A week in photos: 8/20-8/27

Here’s a few things that I saw in my first week in Copenhagen:

Pictured above:

  • The beautiful Nyhavn. I have already walked along the harbor so many times, but I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of the view.
  • Bubbles being blown outside Illum, a huge department store on Østergade.
  • Barburrito, a small Mexican restaurant that is located near DIS. We decided to go there for Mara’s 21st birthday and it was super tasty. We ate so many little tacos, and we also ordered margaritas and plantain chips with guac — something I had never tried before!
  • Trampolines on Havnegade. We walked along the harbor in a new area and found trampolines on the sidewalk! No wonder they call Denmark the happiest country in the world.
  • First day of watercolor class along the canal. Even though most of us didn’t have experience with watercolor, our professor said we needed to take advantage of the beautiful day so he took us out to paint by the water.
  • Danish candy from Flying Tiger. Tiger is like the dollar section of Target only a million times better.
  • Design studio classroom at DIS.
  • Torvehallerne (the Glass Market). After walking around and checking out all the different food stands we ended up getting more smørrebrød. I have no idea what was on my sandwich (some kind of fried fish? Maybe??) but I really enjoyed it!
  • Pebble Lake. We passed this on our way to Nørrebro and spent awhile just admiring the view and all of the swans.
  • The beautiful cemetery in Nørrebro, Assistens Kirkegård. This is where famous Danish writer/poet Hans Christian Andersen is buried.
  • Jægersborggade in the Nørrebro neighborhood. This street was full of cute shops and cafés. It was a lot quieter than the busy street we live on in central Copenhagen and we saw a lot more families. I definitely want to spend more time exploring this area.
A week in photos: 8/20-8/27

Leave a comment